You are here
Home > Friday Night Video > Friday Night Video: Damien Jurado – Exit 353

Friday Night Video: Damien Jurado – Exit 353

Damien Jurado is not shy to cinematic videos. “Exit 353” lives up to the Jurado vision. Through narrative and imagery on the song, there is a degree of isolationist in emotion to the situation at hand.

Damien Jurado is set to release his new album Visions of Us on the Land, due out March 18 on Secretely Canadian.

Director Elise Tyler comments on the video: “Damien has a strong history of cinematic music videos, so I felt very free to explore narrative and image with Exit 353. I was inspired by the haunting landscapes of the Pacific Northwest; it is a perfect backdrop for Damien’s music, which clearly originates from the towering pine trees, dense fog, and winding hills of the region. We explored the area and created a world where two seemingly vulnerable young women are more powerful than one may think. In my mind, Damien is on the verge of leaving this world and disappearing into anonymity. He is pulled back momentarily by these young women who perhaps need his help- but he quickly realized that he should have never been seduced back into society, that he was and is alone among men.”

EUROPEAN TOUR DATES (w/ backing band “The Heavy Light”):
Thu. Apr. 7 – Nijmegen, NL @ Doornroosje
Fri. Apr. 8 – Rotterdam, NL @ Motel Mozaique Festival
Sat. Apr. 9 – Genk, NE @ Little Waves Festival
Sun. Apr. 10 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Tue. Apr. 12 – Brighton, UK @ Dome Studio
Wed. Apr. 13 – Bristol, UK @ Lantern
Fri. Apr. 15 – Dublin, IE @ Whelan’s
Sat. Apr. 16 – Manchester, UK @ St. Philips Church
Sun. Apr. 17 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Mon. Apr. 18 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly Hall
Wed. Apr. 20 – Berlin, DE @ Columbia Theater
Thu. Apr. 21 – Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefahrlich
Fri. Apr. 22 – Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA
Sat. Apr. 23 – Oslo, NO @ Mono
Sun. Apr. 24 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Tue. Apr. 26 – Stockholm, SE @ Sodra Teatern
Thu. Apr. 28 – Cologne, DE @ Stadtgarten
Fri. Apr. 29 – Paris, FR @ divan Du Monde
Sun. May 1 – Valencia, ES @ Veles
Mon. May 2 – San Sebastian, ES @ Intxaurrondo
Mon. May 3 – Ourense, ES @ Teatro Principal
Tue. May 4 – Lisbon, PT @ MusicBox
Wed. May 5 – Madrid, ES @ Teatro Lara
Thu. May 6 – Barcelona, ES @ Music Hall

Andrew Duncan
Dug out from a pile of zines and hot sauce, Andrew Duncan has contributed to many publications through the years, including Chord and work with the ever so spunky Readyset...Aesthetic! He now resides deep within your membrane.

Leave a Reply

Top