Conceive Album Cover from Hypervolume

Hypervolume – Conceive

This Chicago duo makes an impressive intro into the metal arena

Hypervolume on Selective Memory

Self Released

Links: Official Site

There are times when it takes four people to build up the flex to create a soulcrusher of an album, and then there is Chicago’s Hypervolume. Two guys. A. Human and Fabian A. make up one monster of a sound to concoct this metaphysical experience.

Sure, Conceive has its limitations, but like illusionists, the two fill in the gaps nicely. Pick your heavy sound—doom, thrash, death, punk, psychedelic—they are all there subtly packaged together to create a cosmos of guitar drenched rock.

Sometimes you get a Hypervolume song like “Sun,” that chugs along with fury until you reach that moment of losing control. The pulsating riffs crush down with clenched fists that your body soon follows. Intensity defines this band and is what makes Conceive stand out.

And then there is “Edge,” a philosophical mantra built on the foundation of psychedelics and hyperawareness.

Human spent time doodling with a drum machine and perfecting his guitar work so that when he teamed up with Fabian, Conceive took on a life of its own. Burning the candle at both ends, Fabian provides the tempo for many punk and metal canes in Chicago. It all culminates into the music from this debut album that’s well worth the listen.

Hypervolume – Orbit Official video


  1. Fire
  2. Orbit
  3. Before
  4. Sun
  5. Edge
  6. Tide
  7. Wicked
  8. Sea

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *